June 30, 2004

Spidey Sense

We sat on the rectangular plush benches at the Norwood Showcase, Mike glancing at his watch while I stared numbly about at the nearly empty theatre lobby. We were catching the twelve o'clock show of Spiderman 2, where were the rabid comic crowds?

Fred chose the theatre, toting along his nineteen-year-old smug-faced new girlfriend. I tugged nervously at my scarf, not bothering with conversation, as I'm sure I'm the sort of girl she scoffs at, high-school style, while not even knowing the meaning of the word, 'scoff.'

The green plastic seats were reminiscent of a muted, seventies glory. The floors were sticky.

I can't say I was as impressed with the film as I had been prepared to be. The trailer was more gracefully put together than the movie itself, though I did enjoy it. Doc Oc was delightful.

According to Mike.

"I'm like Spiderman, only without the super powers. Just beat up alot... and tired."

Since I am doing the beating, and I can attest to the 'tired' bit, I can agree with Mike, in this instance.

I wonder... if one had super powers, could you live happily with yourself if you did not use them to better the lives of humankind? I must say... Spiderman is one of the most human of super heroes, and for this I love him.

astera at 6:22 p.m.

previous | next