January 6, 2002

Pasta Frodo

A weekend fat full with harmonies and frantic guitar playing, garlic pasta and Lord of the Rings. For the second time. And I'm talking about the movie, not the pasta.

I hope you all are digging the new layout. Ryan's sister Rebekah took the ones of us, and while they didn't turn out quite the way anal-retentive me would've had them, they serve their purpose well enough. Ryan humored me, something delightful and not at all rare.

I'm sighing now. My parents are fighting with my brother in the next room and my soul is fighting with unshed tears in this one. He called me tonight, and we chattered about the varying levels of complications between men and women and the real reason I've watched The Fast and the Furious three times since Thursday.

Vin Diesel, obviously.

But still I feel most poignantly tonight the distance between us. I was watching a show with my parents the other day about the sexual nature of man, and they stated that ninety percent of the population lives in a partnership of some form. They also said that there are new strains on traditional instincts. Man was meant to be with one other person, but when this practice was formed he lived in a small village and was rarely away from it or his partner. Today, people are faced with constant temptation and distance.

Does this mean I am stronger or stupider?

As our dear friend Chris Carrabba would say, "There's no need to test my heart with useless space."

astera at 10:21 p.m.

previous | next