February 10, 2002

Delightful Sighs

I sighed really loudly today and Kels commented on it. I told her I was sighing in satisfaction. And to be Jill and to sigh in such a way is a delightful thing.

We were at her old elementary school where her mother teaches art, sitting in the plastic blue kids' chairs (quite comfortably, to tell you the truth); she hard at work at constructing jewelry from colored wire and I immersed in metallic shades of fimo clay.

We have so many memories from there, running down the halls at eight o'clock at night, sneaking into the library and reading the eye spy, banging away at the piano and the xylophone in the music room, using the pay phone for long distance phone calls with our laughter ringing down the linoleum lined hallways. I could hear the echoes of that happiness today, perhaps because I have a bit of happiness again in my heart.

I wrote a beautiful poem for him.

I saw Lord of the Rings for the fourth time.

I was given well wishes for the position at the library by one of the employees.

But most of all, absolutely best of all, I recieved a letter back from one of the agents I queried and she wants to read the first three chapters of my book.

Someone smiled on me.

So now the sighs escaping my throat are quite unlike the ones that have followed that same path all these weeks previous.

astera at 5:39 p.m.

previous | next