September 29, 2002

Pirate Heaven

It has been a long day. I didn't go to bed until a quarter after five, due to the fact that I did not return home until then. Mom was up. She was not happy. I groaned and buried my face in my purple pillow.

I slept until 9:24 a.m. Feeling weirdly rested despite my lack of sleep, I changed quickly into Renaissance garb and at roughly twenty after ten, Jody, Kelsi, and I headed off for the festival.

There were pirates galore.

I love pirates.

Especially silly, chivalrous ones who come up and ask permission to kiss your hand, and you can do nothing but giggle softly and offer it.

Do you think Mike would be at all interested in an eye patch? Tall black boots? Leather dublet? Sword?

Parrot?

At any rate. Next year I am determined to work there. I am going to fashion real authentic clothing, and solicit the solicitors so that I may be one of their number. Ideally, I would love to be a member of Captain Grace O'Malley's Irish Pirate Band... but I have yet to perfect my 'Argh.' I'm working on it, though.

Kelsi got attacked by a middle-aged knight. It was hysterically funny.

I feel like I should have all sorts of things to say. I feel like I want to quote Mike, and the blissfull five hours we shared last night.

But I won't. I can't, in a way, because it has all become just one big beautiful blur.

Tomorrow I am going to stay the night with him. Part of me is paranoid that my mom will call or something, another part, the biggest part, cannot believe I will wake up next to him.

And, of course, say nothing and refuse to open my mouth before I've brushed my teeth.

astera at 10:22 p.m.

previous | next