December 17, 2002

Hide and Go Peek

I like to hide behind things. Not big huge physical object things, but little things. Generally things right in front of my face. In Junior High, it was a hat. I wore those almost all the time, with the floppy sides that I could fold down and form a sort of cave around my face.

In high school, it was my hair. I kept it short, just at my chin, which meant that nearly all of the time it was falling forward into my face. I liked it that way. It was like a cloak.

Now, it's my glasses. I like wearing them, nevermind the fact that they are transparent and meant for reading only. I'll put them on and I am not quite as conspicuous as I might otherwise have been.

I'm leaking and sad but I will get to see him soon.

I remember what it is he said now. Laying on his back, arm slung idly about me.

"Just call your parents. Tell them you'll be home at seven. In the morning."

"Yeah. Sure. Okay."

"That way I can take you out again at seven-fifteen."

A beat. His laughter.

"What the hell am I thinking? I'm not staying up until seven. And I sure as hell am not getting up at seven, either. You'll just have to stay the night."

He told me he doesn't know if he can marry a woman who can't cook. He loves me even if I can't operate the oven.

He says I'll do for now.

And I laughed.

astera at 11:58 a.m.

previous | next