May 31, 2003

Amelie Me

I saw a sign at a car wash the other day that said: "Can you hear your car saying 'wash me'?"

And I responded, "Why, yes," to the sign and, "You can wait for the rain, motha fucka" to the car.

I feel like Amelie today. I sort of feel like Amelie on purpose, considering I ransacked my wardrobe for a swishy knee length skirt and a light, collared jacket.

I love to think of men like Nino but I do not really believe that I could be in love with a man like Nino. Maybe that's what I just keep telling myself.

A computer geek is twice as good as an artist anyway.

I was sitting in the prow of the rowboat and he rowing, spouting Keats. I wore my light summer gown and sat straight as an arrow, my parasol keeping the sun from my fair, rose blossom skin.

In reality, Mike was rowing, but he quoted 'Aqua Teen Hunger Force' as opposed to 'The Eve of St. Agnes.' The wind blew my hair awry and I hunched over from the cold in jeans and a t-shirt. We discussed time travel, with I traveling first to Thebes to see the pyramids as they were meant to be seen, and Mike making a pivotal first stop in 1981 to invest in Microsoft.

Then he to the future to blow his millions and I to Athens to try and catch a glimpse of Apollo.

Could we meet up, perhaps, in, say, 1924 for an absinthe and a loose night?

Of course.

astera at 2:33 p.m.

previous | next