September 2, 2003

Frodo Shmodo

"If you need anything, just scream. Not blood curdling, like before, just a 'Hey, Mike, How's it going?' Okay?"

I nod, wincing and squirming. So I slammed my index finger in the car door on Saturday night and Mike thought I was being abducted. I don't get hurt very often, so it is always a tragic and hysterical event when I do. Hence that blood curdling scream bit.

It feels a little bit better now. I can use it, to some degree (as in typing...), but it is still freakishly swollen and pretty bruised colours. It is a veritable beast finger.

Yesterday Mike and I laid around in bed until about 2, Labor Day being his first day off in about a month. Our plans for going to the zoo were foiled by the rain, so he and I, and Jeff and Michelle, went to see The Italian Job. I. Want. A. Mini. Cooper. No, wait, scratch that. I. Need. A. Mini. Cooper.

Hell, the base model is only 16,000. On my income, I might be able to pay something like that off in about fifteen years.

It could be worth it. I mean, seriously.

Today will be a half full day. Or will it be half empty? Class at ten this morning, a plea for employment shortly thereafter, date with the doctor at two fifteen... and then the remainder of the day yawns ahead with little other than reading Orlando, by Virginia Woolf, to fill it. My light course schedule permits plenty of time for studying, and working, and your general fucking off. Currently, there isn't a whole lot to study, and I have no concrete employment. As to the fucking off, I'm a master. But for six hours at a time? I clearly need my partner in crime.

O, Mike. You missed me last week. You bought me flowers.

He also plied me with a large red box, addressed thusly: To Jill, From Her Sugar Daddy. Inside, underneath of a pillow from the couch and wrapped in a dish towel, was a copy of The Two Towers. I shall have to thank this Sugar Daddy of mine, if I ever discover his identity. In lieu of his absence, Mike and I made coffee and had delicious cheesy coffee cake as we settled down to emerse ourselves in the trials of the now broken fellowship. I think we also both got chills whilst watching the preview for The Return of the King.

My boyfriend is so cool.

astera at 8:31 a.m.

previous | next