February 24, 2004

Lusterful Day

The day has been more than fortuitous. I'm sort of waiting for my room to start raining manure, considering all the good news I've had today. It's unnerving and delightful all at once.

The news editor at Citybeat contacted me about the writing I submitted to him, his praise glowing. He wants to speak with me about interning there, and I couldn't be more thrilled and anxious. I don't care how much it pays. I don't care, in fact, if it doesn't pay at all. I've never been given such an opportunity before, and I'm afraid I'm salivating for it.

Also, was congratulated by my Much Esteemed English Professor in class today about our recent critical papers, he claiming that mine was excellent, the finest of the bunch. I was blushing madly but extremely flattered. The man is brilliant, and such a compliment from him was not one to be taken lightly.

I've been in a sort of fog, juggling good news and sleepiness. I feel sort of dull, like a mirror in need of polishing, reflecting something murky and colourless. I have three books to read (Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut, Yeats's Poetry and Prose, by, um, Yeats, and Tristan by Gottfried Von Strassburg), a Zoology lab exam to study for, and a whole lot of menial tasks like bill paying and letter mailing to do. I'll probably spend the evening avoiding everything but the Vonnegut, feel guilty for not having finished it yet considering it was due today and I skipped class because I didn't have it done.

I had to have coffee and Scrabble last night. What a surprise.

astera at 9:11 p.m.

previous | next