May 26, 2004

On the Side

Sometimes I am so strange.

For a moment, as I was driving back from class today, my face still slightly flushed from my meagre twenty minute workout, I could see myself, or, the self I could/should be. I vowed to pick up this Saturday at work. Plan a bill-paying schedule. Read novels.

I talked to the director of graduate studies at Miami today, my former Asian American Lit professor, Morris Young. I'm interested in the BA/MA combined program they offer, one that would allow me to begin graduate work my senior year, with only one year after that for my Masters. It looks promising; competitive, but promising.

He said I should focus on poetry, if I can, because they rarely have a strong poet candidate. I can't decide how I feel about that. I wonder how much a choice like that would affect the rest of my schooling.

I wonder if I even want to pursue a Creative Writing MA. I mean, I adore my literature classes. I haven't yet taken a Creative Writing course, and while I know I love to write, I am not sure if the environment will be a comfortable one.

I mean, I want to teach college, that much I know. I think I would like to pursue Literature, it's just so wide open and yet so deliciously narrow, so detailed. I feel like this would be more challenging, and more work, but I guess I'll see. There is no combined program for the Lit, but it is only a two year program anyway with an assistanceship.

Assistanceship. It just sounds so delightfully adult and graduate-esque. I can't wait.

astera at 5:48 p.m.

previous | next