May 31, 2001

The Longest Day and a Half Part One

Allright. What I have to say could potentially take about four entires. I'm going to try to condense it.

So yesterday was our last day of high school. I was thinking then that though I cringe to think of coming back to high school next year, I could stay a senior forever. The reality of my departure has not quite struck me yet.

Our cookout was pretty neat. They served us hot dogs and baked beans (neither of which I ate) and we got to hang out on the football field. I played frisbee with Erka and Jody and Melissa and ended up rolling around in the grass and being tackled and tickled with the help of Ryan (since he knows where I'm really ticklish). I got red scratchy marks all over my back.

And it was so cool when Cory took me home because we drove around the school and beeped the horn just like the seniors do every year. At that moment it really struck me, like this is it. But it wasn't as if I wouldn't be seeing anyone ever again just yet. We had graduation practice at nine the next morning.

So then I went to work. And I've come to the conclusion that Alex is the only true evil bastardly individual I have ever had the displeasure of knowing. I try not to judge mean people, because through years of experience I've found they usually have a reason. Alex is the only person I've ever met who is mean simply because he enjoys malice.

So I tried to be civil yesterday.

Me: "Oh, Alex, I saved all the children's movies for you."

You will note my jocund tone, my bright, winning smile.

Alex: (silence)

He is standing literally three feet from me. I am speaking directly to him using his name. He does not even acknowledge the fact that I am speaking to him.

Oh, I was righteous pissed. My mood soured and I spent the rest of the three hours at work stewing, waiting for someone, anyone, to say something even suggestingly bitchy to me and I was going to go off.

That is until Ryan called me and asked me if I wanted to go out tonight. Hampton was going to have something at his house with some other people... the usual. So I call home. Am promptly bitched at and told that we will discuss this when I get home. Gee, that really improved my mood.

So I'm loathing work, loathing home, realizing I no longer have school to escape to... I was wretched. At 8 o'clock I get in the car to go home. Am welcomed by pissy silence. And then the fireworks.

See Second Part: The Longest Day and a Half Part Two

astera at limbo

previous | next