June 3, 2001

Tribute to Kelsi

This is for Kelsi.

It was a good thing we had eachother in the 7th grade, because we were both too entirely flaky and twisted to attract alternative companionship. I can't imagine how it would have been without you. We found our passion together: writing. I remember the story you wrote about the girl with schizophrenic wings, the ones that changed from rainbow to black and all that jazz.

It's strange that we have stayed friends. Mom and Dad said things between us will always be the same. Now, when I am worried that I will lose touch with everyone, that I will pine miserably for my high school days of comfort and security among my circle of friends; I've realized that I will always have you. When everyone else is gone, Kels, you'll still be there. Because you've always been there. We've been there for eachother. Our comfort together transcends the four years we haven't been in school together. It relies on that, almost.

I want you to know that next year (even though you'll be at home, sort of, and not nearly as paranoid as I will be three hours away), you can always call me and I will be there for you. Just like I always have. Because our friendship is something rarely encountered: the ability to lose someone and find them again, to have them come back to you after you have let them go.

And any two people who have had as twisted delusions about Hanson as we have can never part. If only to keep the secret of our insanity.



astera at obscenely early

previous | next