August 1, 2001

My New Friend

I had to take advantage of this moment. I feel so undeniably sexy. I am sitting here with a plastic cap on my head, my hair a goopy, soon-to-be red mess. But it's not red, people, it's cinnamon. Entirely different color.

I got an e-mail from my favorite author! I sent Juliet (I can call her that now as we are close personal friends, the rest of you must continue to use her formal title of Mrs. Marillier) an e-mail swollen with praise, as she inspires me and makes me cry and all those grand things every true author should aspire to do; and she sent me a response back! She thanked me for my letter, and agreed with me about the charisma of our favorite character of hers, Bran. She also told me a little about the third and final novel in the trilogy, one which will not be released over here for some time yet (blasted thing is released in the UK and Australia this month). I was so excited! She likes me, she really likes me!

Well, perhaps she just does this for all of her adoring fans. But we'll pretend I didn't think that.

So, everyone, as I am now an aquaintence of Juliet, I must persuade you all to read her work. The first book in the trilogy (and you must go in order) is Daughter of the Forest. She is a master of realistic characters, and is fluent in Celtic mythology (as are the novels steeped in it). The second is Son of the Shadows. And I'm serious kids, her sequels actually get better.

Allright, damn this blasted cap. I'm all itchy.

astera at earlier

previous | next