September 13, 2001

Prophecy

I feel as though my life is about to change. I feel as though the whole world is about to change.

It's when you can feel the tension, feel the hands of Fate working the winds in the air. Are we going to go to war? And with who? It seems so violent and real because it will strike my familiarity, people I know.

It's made me realize also my own futility, how tenuous my plans are in the face of something like this. In the face of a future that could include something I had never fathomed.

What would are lives be like? To face such casualty at home, on our own soil? In five years, where will I be as a journalist? Where will Ryan be as an officer in the Air Force? Jody, as a Navy officer? Kelsi, with her multi-lingual background? Where will we be, what are our parts in something like this?

I can feel it. And it terrifies me.

astera at minutes

previous | next