September 12, 2001

Thinking

I've watched about ten hours of news. And it just feels like I'm watching a really long movie.

I think about Manhattan looking like something out of Independence Day. I think about all of those people sitting on the hijacked planes, knowing that they were going to die.

I think about the terrorists that believed so selflessly in their cause that they were willing to commit suicide to kill Americans.

And I think we're royally fucked. Bush is no pacifist, that's more than evident, and we're this close to launching into some major military action.

And I think about how powerless I am to any of this. I think that I hate war. And then I think that I'm pissed that something like this could ever go without retaliation.

How do you change the minds of an entire religious people? They don't value human life. At least not in the sense that we do. They value the lives of their fellows, their allies. They could give a shit less about Americans. They just want to mass genocide the hell out of the Jewish people. They won't fucking get along with the rest of the world. There is no fixing this.

So how do we fix this?

astera at 11:24 a.m.

previous | next