October 31, 2001

Halloweeny

Halloween renewed. I went with my seven and five year old cousins trick or treating, and they are just the cutest. Korey, the seven year old girl, tells everyone I am her big sister. And we were twin witches tonight.

And it was so weird, cruising around tonight with the two of them and their prospective mothers. The fact that the kids couldn't walk between the houses but had to run, and seeing all the clusters of excited little kids with exaggerated lines of blood from thier mouths and sweatsuits stuffed underneath of their costumes.

My brother and I loved Halloween. Still do, despite our usual shiftlessness. I remember getting totally into my costumes. One year, when I was nine or so, I was the Lady of the Lake. She's this actual ghost that haunts some lake in Britain. And while everybody else is being princesses and fairies and barbie and superman I am some obscure ghost whom no one has ever heard of but me.

But I am the only one who counts.

And Justin and I went for the whole three hours. None of this half-hour shit. And we carried pillow cases instead of those cheap plastic trick or treat bags. The pillow cases held up better.

And I remember going back to the house and emptying our stashes onto the floor (far enough away from eachother so the candy would not mingle), and then sorting them into their prospective piles. Such as, all the snickers must be with the other snickers, and all of the dum-dums with all the other dum-dums (regardless of flavor), and all the hershey's kisses with all of the other hershey's kisses (occasionally in accordance with color of wrapper). Then we would trade unwanted pieces with eachother, often ending up with entirely too many tootsie rolls.

Damn, I love Halloween. But I have no candy, really, to speak of. It sucks to be a big kid.

But at least I have a new cape to wear to the Harry Potter premiere.

Wanna see a picture?

astera at spooky

previous | next