November 8, 2001

Heaven, I'm in Heaven...

A letter from Ryan today. That smelled like him.

Needless to say I was sitting in my room, listening to my new Dashboard Confessional CD and sniffing an envelope like some delusional crack addict in need of a fix.

You know what I was thinking the other day? I always talk about heaven as though it were someplace I'm not sure I'd like to spend the rest of eternity. You know, place of endless happiness and light, belovedness and beauty. The thing that isn't quite coherent about heaven is that it is always described as being composed of things humans really don't take that much pleasure in. Like eating healthy and being nice; when all we really want to do is have sex and eat pizza. My question is this: are these things only the body craves? And if so, should we get busy and hungry seeing as we only have some seventy odd years wherein we can enjoy these things before it's celery sticks and celibacy for all time?

Personally, if I go to heaven, I want to eat pizza and have sex. Otherwise, reincarnate my ass. The pain is worth it for the italian food.

astera at letters

previous | next