April 13, 2002

Not Quite as I Would Have It

He's got me all poetic feeling.

My eyes darted across the linoleum, black mice scurrying. He was not there. Somewhere inside a frantic voice shouted that he was scheduled for tonight, he was scheduled for tonight!

A motherly voice soothed this one, claiming that perhaps if he was not in tonight he would be in tomorrow.

A wicked voice taunted with the idea that he had called out to go on a date with the supposed-nebulous girlfriend.

A fourth and final voice did not speak, but merely heaved a sigh of exasperation. That one was mine.

Exhaustion crept early into my bones this Friday night, the usual pretended gaiety even more transparent. I imagined his smile, half crooked, half shy, imagined it pointed at everyone but me.

I was going to say hello tonight. I was.

Would he have said it back?

The night ends with a half hearted hug for Justin-the-18-year-old-busboy-and-apparent-and-persistent-suitor. I haven't had a decent hug in months, but to indulge in one with him would be crossing a line I have already vowed not to cross, both to him and myself. I wonder why it is that a smart boy will not recognize me for what I am: a smart girl. Will I forever be chased by those who do not seek that which is in my mind? Justin is not a bad guy. He's just a guy. Just a regular guy.

Do I deserve to be picky?

And yet, how could I not deny him when it is to another my heart has already flown?

Next time, I will remember to cut off its wings.

I tried to kill a wasp with a rolled up Spin magazine. It was hovering on the light bulb. I blew out the light instead, and the wasp mysteriously disappeared.

I only hope it is not in my bed.

Would I stil feel the sting in my dreams?

astera at 1:07 a.m.

previous | next