May 28, 2002

Reminder to Mortality

Sometimes things happen that are a striking reminder of our mortality. Being young is essentially being stupid, each of us in our own way. I have always been hesitant-stupid, a lack of experience keeping me from taking chances and putting myself out there. I miss out on things this way.

Most of my high school friends were daring-stupid.

Yesterday Ryan, Lindle, Hampton, and Meeshee got into a car accident. Lindle, being the motor-head that he is, cut across four lanes of traffic while racing another car, and then lost control of his own and flipped it multiple times before finally landing in a ditch.

They're all okay. Hampton was alert when the car had finally stopped, and kicked out one of the small windows in the back and he and Ryan climbed out. They pulled Meeshee from the car. Lindle was unconscious, and when he woke they couldn't get him out. He had to be cut out of the car, this taking nearly an hour, and upon air caring him to the University of Cincinnati hospital it was determined that he had broken both of his legs, and was only bruised elsewhere. He's still in the hospital, and appropriately, but all the rest were released after their minor wounds were bound.

I can only thank God that they were this lucky. Anything could have happened. Any one of them could have died. And I just think, what do I do about this?

I should talk to Ryan. I should embrace him, and tell him that just because I do not understand him anymore does not mean I do not care about him. I care about all of them. More than they know, or that I will ever be given opportunity to tell them.

So I will not bitch and moan about my hesitant-stupid nature today. I do not care that Chris is totally beyond me. I will never do anything about it, anyway.

What is worse? Living dangerously, or barely living at all?

astera at 10:33 a.m.

previous | next