June 17, 2002

LOVELY LOVELY WORLD

This has been the best three days in about one hundred and thirty. Maybe even more.

Saturday equals bliss. Saturday evening equals breathless, heart fluttering wonder. Ian sent me an email that made my breath catch in my throat, and when I regained it all I could do was squeak. He likes me. He uses words like "intoxicating" and "enchanting" to describe me. I search for words in my own throat to describe him, and nothing comes out but a deep, delighted sigh.

We shall muddle through these next few weeks, and any after, with 'gentle expectation.' He is leaving for London in July. He does go to school in Tennessee.

But he is the best and now we are sure to be good friends with the ever possibility of something more. It's so... pleasant and honest. The whole blessed affair.

Not only did I have such romantic fortune this weekend, I also had the financial sort. I recieved a letter from Miami concerning a revision in my financial aid package. My parents were approved for a Parent Plus Loan. One of the most perfect amount, as well, that will make the tuition I pay throughout the year a rather tidy, manageable sum. I squealed about that, too.

And Abigail and I are going to see Weezer on July 18, in Columbus. A little left of center, sixth row. Hoo-fucking-rah.

I suppose it all came together today in Kelsi's car, listening to a mix of songs from our freshman year in high school, thinking blissful little thoughts and wearing my new purple sunglasses and allowing the wind to blow my hair back from my face. With my parents gone she has been my roommate, and we have been most pleasantly independently occupied. Today we bought things for candles, and fetched Cassy and returned to my home to make them. They look like shit, but they're ours.

Finally, finally, life seems worth living for the moment. It's always worth living, but I spend most of my time waiting for the future instead of enjoying the present.

If I were a praying girl, I would. I think I will anyway. It will sound something a little like this:

"Gee, thanks."

astera at 8:49 p.m.

previous | next