June 17, 2002

Kelsi and Jill's Pointless Musings

I will speak of kisses and federal loans later. Today is a day of supreme joy and madness. Kelsi has moved in with me in leu of my parent's absence and my brother's twelve-hour-a-day social life.

So I rediscovered White Town. I rediscovered the musical joys of being fifteen years old.

We were dorks. All of these songs mean something to us, as so aptly explained by aforementioned Kelsi, because we were subjected to them in our endless waiting to hear 'Where's the Love' or 'Mmmbop.'

So don't ask.

Yes, so here I am (Kelsi) and I've spent the entire weekend at Jill's house. Even when she wasn't here, you know. I made myself right at home. We're going out today to take pictures of the Tower for our tarot cards, even though Jill doesn't know it yet. We're going, we are.

Oh, and I have a mermaid toothbrush.

My toothbrush is pink. But I would rather like a Ron Weasley one, now that I think of it.

I can see my future today. Be my musings influenced by the tarot card reader's glowing predictions, or by the lovely reflections Kelsi and I have been having on our pasts, I do not know. Everything, today, is sunshine and light. I can see school, lovely, I can see the hoped-for apartment, lovely. Kelsi and I have wonderful independent little habits that remain even when we are technically company in each other's homes.

Photographs are almost like writing. One of my walls is plastered with them, endless albums are strewn about my room fat-full with them. I take so many, I've managed to capture entire pieces of my life. I know precisely how that one summer felt, how quirky we were and how quirky we have become. In ten years I will look at this pictures and remember vividly. I will cry.

I already get a little misty.

I'm trying to be introspective and deep in your diary, Jill, but I'm pretty bad at it. Um, um, perhaps the fact that your pen ran out symbolizes some deep inner conflict...

Okay, I failed miserably. But while we're bringing up old memories, we're listening to "Adia" and that reminds me of when we went to Lilith Fair. That was awesome, even though it was hellish hot and the crazy people around us kept spilling beer on our blanket and Clare almost passed out because it was too hot and Cassy's sort-of-friend Laura laughed at her for it. I'm pretty sure you have the picture of Clare sitting on the ground somewhere on that wall, unless you moved it to an album. And the Woodstock-esque shots of the enormous crowd too.

I just remember going out to accompany someone to the restrooms during Sarah McLachlan's set, and standing just outside the gates watching the monitors and harmonizing "I Will Remember You" while we all waited for Cassy. She's always the slowest.

Back to you, Tim.

Moved it to an album. Last year when I was packing for Ohio University I took down all the pictures and relegated them to an album aptly named 'The Wall.' That was probably one of the saddest sights I have ever seen: my poor sad blue wall, absent entirely of photographs, with little squares of unbleached paint where each had previously been. I remember I could hardly bear to sleep there, amidst that emptiness.

When I came home I put up new pictures, and I had good dreams again.

Signing off.

Likewise.

astera at 11:08 a.m.

previous | next