August 2, 2002

Glasses

I take back my previous affirmations of wanting to live inside the refrigerator. Yesterday I helped my mother clean out the refrigerator. It was fucking gross.

So.

I'm getting glasses. The fruit born of this morning's eye exam was the news that I am slightly far-sighted, with a stigmatism. And while these normally balance eachother out, so that my regular vision is clear, my reading so much puts strain on my eyes and gives me headaches. Hence, glasses for reading.

They're cute with copper frames. I know it's silly but now I have just one more geeky thing about me and I am delighted.

I feel like dancing.

Mike gave me a driving lesson yesterday. I succeeded in causing the 'Service Engine Soon' light to come blinking on his dash, but other than that I didn't do so bad. I'd never really driven a stick before, but it only took me about fifteen or twenty minutes before I was getting a slight handle on it. It helped immensely that he explained the physics of it to me, exactly what the clutch was and what I was doing when I shifted gears. He taught me to feel when I should start to give it gas. I managed first, second, and reverse, but in a parking lot it was rather difficult to get enough speed to switch into third.

Mike tells me to trust my feet and become one with the vehicle.

I giggle.

We also went shopping for vinyl for the party next week. His friend Kasey has turn tables, which are an endless source of entertainment for Mike. He couldn't find any good techno records, much to his chagrin, but there is plenty of time left to go out shopping again.

And, even though I do not own a record player, I bought a record. I couldn't help it. I took but one look at Pink Floyd's 'Dark Side of the Moon' and could not keep my hands off of it. There's only one thing cooler than owning that album. Owning it on vinyl.

Plus, it was only five bucks.

This morning I discovered, much to my surprise and delight, that there were two posters and two stickers hidden inside the sleeve. They're in mint condition, which is fucking awesome considering this record is roughly thirty years old. I'm going to save the stickers and one of the posters, but the other absolutely has to go on the wall at school. I can't help myself, truly.

I'm listening to Jimmy Eat World's 'Sweetness.' I cannot surpress the sighs and the lovely image of Mike half asleep in my mind.

Last night when we got to my house we sat in the back of his truck and looked at the stars. All sorts of strange things began erupting from our mouths, and we ended up sitting out there for an hour and a half, just talking. I've come to the conclusion that I watched far too much Unsolved Mysteries and X-Files as a child.

Mikes teases me, pointing at one of the planes in the sky and whispering, "It's a UFO!"

Maybe it was on its way to pick us up.

Or just to take Mike home, seeing as he is an alien and all.

astera at 12:53 p.m.

previous | next