September 11, 2002

Slow Down

I went tearing across Cook Field, scarf and hair and smile flying, arms out, palms gathering the wind as a surge of inexplicable joy flooded my legs, powering me. There is sun and wind and something else, and I slow only to find that my lungs are empty and I am heaving.

But I don't miss a step. I slow into a gentle gait, backpack slung over one shoulder, eyes roaming, dreams dangling like jewels from my eyes and ears.

I alternated today between awe and sobriety. The sun was rising as I walked to my eight a.m. class. I was awestruck. Pulley Tower played a lament between 9:43 a.m. and 10:10 a.m. I was sorrowed.

Today is September 11. Only a year ago today our hearts were laid bones bare at the hands of evil, only a year ago today did we realize just how strong we are. And just how weak.

But I was running today. And there was beauty and light and no one, and nothing, in pursuit of me. The sky is as blue as the sea.

Am I afraid? I am not afraid.

Today, I know there is a tomorrow.

astera at 2:09 p.m.

previous | next