October 24, 2002

Shake Suma

Upon finishing my two chapters of Spanish labs, do you know what I have to say?

Fucking bueno.

I still have to write a Spanish composition, mind you, and a Political Science paper, and read for English, and begin, at least some time, to study for my History exam.

O, let me regale you with the joys of being a college student...

I am taking a break, however, because I have to get back to thinking in English. There is nothing more insane than thinking in Spanish, especially with the fairly limited vocabulary that I possess. And I can't very well write my Political Science paper in good old Espanol now, can I?

It is Identity Politics. I could just say I identify as Latino, and am expressing my enlightened self.

I don't think my professor would buy it.

You are an angel. And sometimes intense can be good. This is beautiful.

I feel like a nap. I don't look anything at all like one.

Mike's birthday is this Saturday. He is going to be 23. I braved Hallmark for him. You might have seen me. I was in a red sweater swinging mid-calf, a too-long scarf, and my hair was everywhere. I spent what seemed six hours in the card aisle, finally settling on a rather funny one involving those pink plastic flamingos. I'll just let your imaginations run with that one.

I bought him some pumpkin pie scented candles, because he likes both a) pumpkin pie, and 2) candles. He can burn them and I might think about giving him a massage.

Venturing to the indie record store, Looney T. Bird's, I peruse the aisles in a vain effort to find some sort of fabulous-magical-perfect record, only to begin to panic at their lack of anything especially Smashing Pumpkins-311-Rage Against the Machine-ish. I couldn't just get him any record. He likely already owns them all, anyway.

So, I reluctantly ask the clerk guy for aid, and he directs me to the very places I had just visited. Annoying as I am, I plead my case and explain that I need something special.

And, remarkably, he produced it.

A limited edition and now out of print 311 video, complete with interviews, concert and backstage footage, and music videos. It also came with a CD with four previously unreleased tracks. Granted, it was used, and the case was in a small sort of bad way, but I just thought it was perfect. He loves 311. He'd love this... am I wrong? Am I right? I mean, I know he doesn't have this. And he can no longer get it.

You'd think I'd know what he'd like. Well, I don't. I do... but I also emphatically don't.

At least I know he'll like the candles.

Boys are so hard to shop for. And I think it has about ninety-five percent to do with the fact that you are generally shopping for a boy that you care about, and you just want to get him something that he'll be crazy about.

Argh.

He calls me yesterday.

"I got your birthday present today."

"Really? Sweet. Did you blow her up yet?"

"You're a dork."

"I know."

We're dorks together. I mean, honestly. With who else could I watch the same episode of Aqua Teen Hunger Force over and over again, and still laugh hysterically?

Think the Fates would erase the rest of today and tomorrow, and finish my homework for me, so that it might be tomorrow evening and his arms that much sooner?

In the words of Meatwad...

"Do what I say 'cause I said it."

astera at 3:38 p.m.

previous | next