October 29, 2002

Still

I am eating bad Halloween candy and contemplating my bed. It's raining. And it's really fucking cold. And my umbrella is a piece of shit and kept inverting in upon itself. So I looked retarded trekking across Cook Field, red umbrella fumbling, juggling a CD player and a scarf and struggling to pull my sweater tighter about me.

God, I love my bed.

I'm starving, too, but eating entails going outside. I may muster up the strength by the time I finish this entry.

Listening to 311's 'Amber.' Once again, sighs abounding.

Mike is coming to get me today and we were planning on driving down to Louisville to see some of his friends from college... but I really don't want to. The weather, as aforementioned, is absolutely miserable. This is one of those days where we could lay around in his bed and I wouldn't mind.

Well, that's every Tuesday...

But, most especially this one.

I hope I can change his mind. Even better, I hope that he has already done so for himself. We were going to go to Sitwell's today and play Scrabble and drink coffee... we can still do that. Somehow I just don't think I want to be on the road for an hour and a half.

There are very subtle differences between college and high school, and I don't believe any of them, thus far, have to do with the difficulty of the work. At least not yet. Maybe not for me.

Inspired by today: you find yourself caught in the rain a whole lot more. There's no more dashing to the car or to the bus and then being done with it. O, no. Those days are in the past.

I've found that I actually sort of enjoy doing laundry, mostly because it is mine and mine alone and I don't have to do it very often. I like straightening up my side of the room on my own volition, and, surprisingly, I keep it fairly tidy.

Teachers still don't think you're capable of taking care of yourself. They still want you to turn in rough drafts. They still want to check up on your group projects, hell, they are still assigning group projects! Why?

When I figure it out, I'll let you know. And, if you happen to do so before I, please tell me.

Have I mentioned I hate group projects?

I love 311, though.

I am still in his car in July, you know. I'm still dying of a heat stroke and some other sort of stroke... I am still feeling his hands for the first time. We aren't awkward... that didn't last very long anyway.

He asked me out because he wanted someone to talk to. He thought that I'd be too conservative for him, but he liked that I was smart.

He seemed so much older to me, and so much smaller. Now he is just Mike, the perfect height, the not so perfect smile.

Lunch. I crave sustenance.

astera at 12:20 p.m.

previous | next