December 31, 2002

New Year

When I enter Kelsi's house, I automatically become fifteen years old again. It does not help that Cassy, also, accompanied me through that large oak and glass door. Giggling in anticipating of the sparkling cider we are soon to imbibe, I am freed for a moment from the insanity of this day.

Upstairs, curled on Kelsi's waterbed with her guitar in my lap and Cass lounging at my feet, we are babbling and Draco is dancing and Cassy is chuckling. Once disrobed, it appears that Draco, in bell sleeves, has some sexual orientation issues. He may be coming on to Harry in the next film, or in the last, and we mistook it for malice.

'Wingardium Leviosa' has a whole new meaning, and my use of it may quite possibly be the funniest damn thing I've ever said.

I bought fifty dollars worth of groceries. I don't want to have to take care of my dad. I don't want to have to pick up the house.

Mom left us with the messes she made so she could start new and we could clean up after her, and it's bullshit. Of course I still love her. Of course I'm not actually upset, not anymore.

But I'm obviously the damn grown up in this situation.

Kels and Cass are singing, and I am still fifteen. So for a moment I will pretend that I don't have any worries, and that tomorrow is the closest thing to happiness that I have ever known.

My resolution? To trust.

astera at 9:49 p.m.

previous | next