December 31, 2002

Mom

I saw my mom for the first time in ages today. Sure, she's been around. I've even spoken with her. But it wasn't her.

She left. She says she left my dad. My brother is angry, my dad is a wreck. I cried when she came to visit this morning at seven-thirty in the morning, being worn and stressed and for the first time understanding her. Can I expect her to stay when I don't even live here anymore? Can I expect her to remain with a man that she doesn't love, merely because it comforts her grown up children? The last time she left I was eight. She'd left a couple of times before that as well.

She always came back.

Why do I feel like this time, she won't?

She said we're grown up, with our own lives.

I still want her to be a part of mine.

astera at 12:30 p.m.

previous | next