December 29, 2002

Vegetables

His family is so kind. I spent nearly all of yesterday in his and their company, at his Uncle Tim's Christmas party. His grandmother got me a Christmas present, something my own grandmother is too much of a child to do. I giggled as his grandpa clutched defensively at his glass of wine, at various relatives insistence on hearing every question in Trivial Pursuit at least four times. I played Shanghai Rum with his grandmother, his cousin Becky's boyfriend Doug, his sister Wendy, and a random child named Anna. I was made to feel welcome and relished it.

He tells me that they all really like me, asking how long we've been dating, saying I seemed smart, asking if we were serious.

Mike said yes, six months, yes, pretty much so.

After we dropped his brother Freddy off at home we went back to his house, I not seeing the point in returning to my home just then considering neither parents nor brother would be about. We watched Revenge of the Nerds and he made us breakfast stew.

He told me I was insanely beautiful in a Russian accent. The two of us laughed like mad about anything and everything and something quite specific.

I can't imagine anyone better. It isn't that he's perfect. He's just perfect for me.

We decided that we are going to buy the three DVD's of the best of Beavis and Butthead and split the cost. Rampant hours of ridiculous and childish laughter will follow, because you know that Mike and I enjoy nothing better than stupid cartoons.

astera at 12:37 p.m.

previous | next