January 31, 2003

Simbalayah

I didn't skip Geology today to play with The Sims. I would never do such a thing, seeing as Igneous rocks are so dear to my heart.

My absence for days has naught to do with me. Work and Mike occupied me for four days, and somewhere in there I also attended a few classes that I did not pay much attention to. But I finished reading The Woman Warrior by Maxine Hong Kingston and managed to acquire my driver's license.

I like driving at night with the pulse of techno music in my ears, the power of the engine humming underneath the foot that is on the gas pedal. Strange to be in the car all by myself, however, not because I'm scared that I'll kill myself (though I might), but because I am alone. I'm lonely. I turn the radio up and alternately down; I talk to myself. Still. Strange. Lonely.

I also speed, regularly, despite formerly professing that I would never be comfortable enough driving to do so.

I have decided finally and officially to drop Literature and Film, what would have been beloved English 220. At this point, it is either strangle fellow students/professor or drop. I prefer 12 credit hours to homicide.

Am I a bad student? I wonder. My grades last quarter indicate that the answer must be no, but then I think of the amount of effort I put in. I go to class, most of the time, I do my assignments. I really only do as much as I have to, though, unless I like the class. In which case, I actually pay the deserved amount of attention to the work I am doing, as opposed to the short-term-memory-learn-for-the-exam-and-promptly-forget amount of attention. I will never be well rounded. I really only apply myself to English.

I can learn to live with myself being a slothful and ungrateful student. I have a right to be; I'm the one forking out 6500 a year.

Er, the government is, and I have to pay them back later. Still. It's the principle of the thing.

astera at 11:24 a.m.

previous | next