March 28, 2003

Just. A. Little.

Listening: 'Drop in the Ocean', Michelle Branch

After much struggling in the cab of Mike's truck, the two of us managed to wedge ourselves between seat and steering wheel and boxes of leftover Kentucky Fried Contraband Chicken to watch 'Chicago' at the Holiday Drive In. Granted, it was not a holiday, but it was a celebration in and of itself that I managed to get Mike to take me to see a musical.

I thought it was unique how they managed to blend very stage-esque performance with a truly cinematic style. Loathed though I am of Richard Gere, I think his tap dance was probably one of my favorite parts. Catherine Zeta-Jones' role was far too uninvolved for me; I would have much rather seen more of her than Renee Zellweger. Renee, I have one thing to say. Eat a damn sandwich. You look horrible.

You know, it's really quite distressing when one has a fierce conscience. See, I am sometimes annoyed by people I do not necessarily dislike, and this makes me feel guilty as hell. For instance, most of the girls in my dorm, including my roommate. I can talk to them when I need to, even enjoy myself doing so. They like some of the same music as me, I admire their wardrobes and their dedication to class (far outweighing mine, I am sure). However, when they get into groups, they have this horrible tendency to giggle and shriek over some undisclosed topic. This can be a sporadic or prolonged reaction, and has the nagging habit of occuring late at night, when I am in bed. See, I like them, to some degree. I just wish they'd shut the hell up.

I told Mike I have too much testosterone in my life, what with being around my father and my brother, and him and his brother, more than I am around any sort of female figure. I am the sole purveyor of estrogen in my life, unless you count my frequent online encounters.

It saddens me that I can't stand most girls. I don't meet anybody like you or you or you in real life. You don't count. You're, like, a staple of my existence. Hence I must totally ignore you.

I suppose I should gather up my things and make the impossible trek home. I vowed to take a nap, but chances are I'll just waste time watching television or ignoring the laundry.

astera at 10:35 a.m.

previous | next