September 3, 2003

Conundrum...drum

I wish I had more to say about my new layout outside of colour!! But I don't. Anything more would cheapen the accomplishment.

And please, please visit Paulina Stuckey. Her art is playful and fantastic, this image being one of very many.

I cleaned today, meaning I emptied the garbage can and recycling bin and resituated my action figures. These cramped college rooms do not exactly afford the necessary space for the entire fellowship, you know? Not to mention Nightcrawler falling off the damn phone all of the time. I moved him so he is now leering at the phone, as opposed to anyone who tries to use it.

I put Aragorn in a threatening position in front of the picture of Mike I have on my desk. At present, Narsil is stabbing Mike in the ear. The other orifices shall follow...

I am restless and anxious and still somewhat groggy from my short nap. It's too hot and bright to properly sleep, but my body is feeling much like limp spaghetti. I am thinking about the position at the Lane Public Library that I am going to apply for, and wondering if I really want to shoulder twenty hours of work a week. I'm sure that I could manage it, and still have free time, but do I want to? Yesterday I spent roughly four hours on school work, taking notes as I was reading, doing things with a highlighter that have never been done before (at least when sober); I was really proud of myself. But I know me. And if I work a considerable amount of time, I'm going to want to spend a considerable amount of the time that is left over just fiddling around on the internet, reading trashy fantasy novels, and sleeping. A student is a full time position in itself. But I need money, too, to support my crack habit.

No, not really. I mean, yes, I need the money, but not for crack. Oddly enough I am thinking of Christmas time, and all the lovely little things I want to buy for all of my friends and loved ones. And can I really do that making under six dollars an hour, 7 hours a week? And still buy gasoline for Spartacus, and juice for my dorm room, and thrift store clothes? The answer is no. Resoundingly so.

Hell, I might not even get an interview with any of these places. I might not be able to get a job at all.

astera at 4:59 p.m.

previous | next