December 4, 2003

Ball and a Biscuit

I love coming back to my dorm at about ten in the morning, pulling up the shade and turning out all the lights but the strand of Christmas ones. I sit at my desk, basking in the double-wintry glow, both artificial reds and greens and blues, and true, bleak sunlight. I adore the holiday season, I adore December spread before me, full of possibility, raw beauty, and glitter. Snow is enough like glitter to satisfy my inner-child.

I was forced into a skirt this morning by my Women's Studies presentation, and I was certain on the way back to my dorm that I had gotten frostbite. My knee joints were moving together strangely, almost mechanical, but all was well once I was inside and slid comfortably into a pair of jeans. About half of my end-of-term work is finished, but it is enough to make me smile and waste a few idle moments playing Snood and updating my various online appendages.

I am listening to the White Stripes and the World Is Good.

astera at 10:44 a.m.

previous | next