December 17, 2003

Adventures in Solitude

Over the full red sleeves goes Mike's coat, forced, my fingers numbed both by cold and the constricting lace around my wrists. He bends at my waist as I hold the skirt up, zipping it from mid-thigh to chin. In chemise, dress, and winter coat, I feel... thick.

"Now you know what you have to say?"

I shake my head.

" 'I can't put my arms down!' "

And we are laughing as we walk across the empty parking lot at 4:30 a.m., I still raving about Gandalf *spoiler* *spoiler* to *spoiler* Denethor, he still caught up in Aragorn's, "For *spoiler*!"

The. Movie. Was. Wonderful. I am full of this heavy sadness that it is truly over, that now I know what became of the ringbearer and his fellowship. I suppose, though, there is still the extended DVD. And the book, which I shall now allow myself to read.

I'm taking a break from the excruciatingly painful task that is studying for tomorrow's finals. I want to go home and cook dinner with my father. I just want to go home.

astera at 10:29 p.m.

previous | next