January 30, 2004

Asian Style

I can't even behave as though I've abandoned this journal for my livejournal, because I haven't. I rarely post over there, either, and nothing of any sense (or sensibility). The muse is dead, with her gossamer head on a pike outside my window. I've sacrified all notions of creativity and expression to the all mighty altar of College.

I did my 8 dollar yoga video this morning, having gotten up early for that express purpose. My limbs and the muscles therein feel all tingly-like, and while I had an extremely hard time with the measured breathing and the Triangle Pose, I feel good. Could use a nap, but feel good.

After reading Allen Ginsburg's Howl in my American Lit class yesterday, and absorbing the subsequent discussion, I feel compelled to care for myself, for the hours spread out in the days before me. My professor, the Amazing Ken, encourages us to find something to be happy about every day. I know that I tend to focus on the negative, and am going to endeavor to take his advice. It isn't as though I haven't heard it a thousand other places, and, occcasionally, from the recesses of my own mind.

Today I am happy for yoga and smoothies and prospects.

astera at 10:46 a.m.

previous | next