May 14, 2001

Does God sneeze?

How lazy have I been? Not lazy, necessarily, simply jaded by the overwhelming amount of school work my teachers have dumped upon me, leaving me little time for leisure let alone diary-writing. What happened to that whole "take it easy your senior year" thing? Especially the last two weeks? My teachers are evil. I offically loathe high school.

Do you know what I have noticed? Saying "Bless you" after someone sneezes is somewhat of a dying custom, and also one that is based in jurisdictions. That's right, blessing jurisdictions. Were someone to sneeze one seat behind me or in front of me, maybe even two seats but at the most three, it is my duty to say "Bless you." Now, if they are sitting across the room I cannot very well disrupt the entire class and bless them, can I? No. But does anyone else bother to say it? Also no. Now, I have not the time to pick up other's slack. I have plenty of potential blessings within my own said-jurisdiction. I can't be worried about everyone else's, too.

Don't ask me where that came from or exactly why I've suddenly started to sound like Jerry Seinfeld. The subject had to be addressed.

I've finished reading Conversations with God, and recommend it to any almost-atheist or struggling Christian. It was weird, even if I don't believe that the author was really speaking to God, I do believe what God said in the book. The irony was unparallel, God speaking of hell as a creation of the churches to trap faith into parameters man could understand (and would leave him prey to their version of God). God said that we cannot understand his eternal and all encompassing love without having an equally as strong hate to poise opposite him. Hence, the devil and hell. God said these do not exist, he has merely given us the power to create as he is the Creator; that he has never been our judge nor will he ever be. For what is a forgiving God that will punish you, or a superhuman God who is bound by the petty human vices of jealousy and vengeance? I was stumbled, frankly. I have come to one conclusion in my new, no-longer-backwards faith: God is wicked cool.

astera at sleepin'

previous | next