July 7, 2001

All Grown Up

Sitting here obsessively admiring my beauteous new page layout, all thanks to the Empress of all that is good and full of light: Kelsi! She is the Queen and the Goddess and, obviously, the Empress.

Cassy is complaining that there is no yellow. There is a yellow, of course, but not the perfect yellow. She wants hair colored colored pencils. That's a bit repetitive.

The Hanson party is off to a splendid start. Without plans of sleeping (I can bowl half-concious tomorrow) and many plans of watching our varied assortment of purchased and recorded from television Hanson videos, I have justified earlier assumptions that today will be exceptionally fun. Again, the comfortable kind of girl fun, made even more special by the fact that Kelsi and I have known eachother for so long we are practically sisters. And Cassy a most definite honorary cousin.

We started to listen to the CD's in order, singing along, of course, and just laughed our asses off. As crazy and naive as we were during our Hanson phase (9th grade), we were so young and full of hope. That time, and that music, was so innocent I can hear just one song from Middle of Nowhere and be taken back to the honest jubilation that was my existence. There is nothing so beautiful as unaldulterated happiness. It's not something I can relish anymore. Everything is so complicated that I can't enjoy things like I used to. Everything carries its weight now. Oh, shit. I've gone and grown up.

But that doesn't mean I can't reminisce violently and without restraint.

astera at evening

previous | next