September 20, 2001

Working Class Girl

Today is a grand and golden day. Behold, Jill at 8 a.m., pajama clad and sleepy eyed, being thrust the phone by her mother, warned to not sound as groggy as she looks, and what does she discover but the joyous news that...

I have a Job!

Yes, you can congratulate me. I will work full time at Cappel's until January. Hoorah! Cappel's is Cincinnati's supplier of Halloween costumes and various holiday novelties.

Frankly, kids, it is my mecca.

Jenny and I used to go there all the time and just spend hours in the aisles, trying to find retarded things to spend our money on. Like fifteen-cent christmas erasers. And sparkly glue. And peacock feathers and mardi gras masks and pink wigs and candles and silk flowers.

Will I ever come out of there with an intact pay check?

It isn't likely.

astera at now and then

previous | next