September 20, 2001

Handfuls of Time

Sitting here dumbfounded after watching President Bush's Address to the Nation. Stunned. Awed.

Frightened.

I had never taken Bush for an orator. But let me just say that tears sprang to my eyes throughout.

I cannot but think of Ryan in San Antonio, perhaps preparing for this 'war against terrorism.' Bush was speaking of the events of September 11, that we will always remember what it was we were doing when we heard the news. He said some will remember a fire, and others will remember a face, a voice gone forever.

He extended his hand to the Muslim community, clearly displaying and voicing his respect for both they and their religion.

I cannot stop thinking of how many people have already died. How many people who have yet to die. All of us, living our lives and not knowing what is about to happen to us. The family and loved ones of someone who will be a victim, continuing their lives without being ware of what will soon alter their lives forever. They will not know that they should hold their husband or son or wife or brother or friend closer just one more time, give them just another handful of kind words. They do not know that they had better take advantage of their time together because soon their time will be cut short.

Should I hold him one more time? Will I even be given the chance?

astera at beginning

previous | next