March 2, 2002

Turkish... Coffee?

All I need is a book and a bottle of Ibuprofen.

Finished Terry Goodkind's Stone of Tears, the second in a series of who knows how many. It was only 703 pages long.

And after reading about dozens of heroes/heroines in dozens of life threatening scenarios in dozens of fantasy books, I have come to the conclusion that the only one I've ever truly identified with is Frodo. I'm the heroine that is just trying not to die.

I wish I were Kahlan or Sorcha or Fern. But I'm not. They steel themselves against their enemy. I would be Frodo, crying about it endlessly, wishing it were not the way it was. Not to say that if I were given a choice, I wouldn't do what was needed. But I wouldn't be swinging my battleaxe.

I'm also quite perturbed that none of these women ever have to bother with the toiletries of the average female. Shit, if all one has to do to get out of shaving their legs is go around whacking tyrant rulers and bringing peace to their famine-ridden lands, you'd think there'd be more warrior women.

I watched Snatch last night. It was very clever. I thought it was funny, but I can see how my brother thought it wasn't. It was smart, but there were several fairly dark parts.

Though I liked Vincent and Sol and the dog. They were cool. They like tea cosys.

I think I liked Turkish best. Zee Germans.

And I happen to like the pikeys.

astera at 4:37 p.m.

previous | next