March 6, 2002

I used to wear Orange

You'll note the horrendous hour. And just know that I've been up since seven. Yesterday, too.

And I put noxema in my hair this morning.

I apologize profusely for my neglect. Considering that a) my computer freaked out and decided not to boot and 2) I went to the Orientation of Hell yesterday for nine hours and came home and cried about my uniform, I have a bit of an excuse.

So Argosy wants to dress their employees like old matron bitches. And I look like the haggiest of them all. They quell every trace of individuality they can manage, down to the style of black shoe you can wear and number of earrings. As in one, small, conservative pair for women and nothing else for anyone else.

I think I don't need to say tongue rings are strictly prohibited.

At least they pay well. Really well. Though I sort of feel like I am selling my soul to the man.

And he's a member of the Indiana Gaming Commission.

I watched The Patriot the other day. The first time I saw that movie Ryan's sister kept me from crying by telling me what would happen before every awful thing that happened. In retrospect, I think that cannot have possibly been the reason. I bawled at this movie and knew what was going to happen.

I must have been afraid to cry in front of Ryan. And considering I didn't for about four more months, I am probably assuming correctly.

I am so happy I am not with him anymore. Not that I don't still care about him, but I realize there is so much more for me, people I would be even more comfortable with and have more in common. I want a poet or a musician or an artist or an actor. The opportunity to speak in length with a creative boy is something I have never before encountered, seeing as I usually send men running.

Boys, too.

astera at 7:43 a.m.

previous | next