June 11, 2002

Orientation, O?

I am Hermione Granger.

So, who is sitting at breakfast this morning, and, in fact, dinner last night, flipping madly through the course book and writing down three alternates for every single class and pining madly to take all three classes in both sequences of literature? Who recieved their free summer reading book yesterday morning and has already advanced to page 73? Who hopped about campus this afternoon, visiting the library and admiring the glossy books on the shelves?

Who cannot wait, absolutely is dying and if it is possible has an even more increased desire to go to school than she did two days ago?

Me. Yes, me, America's Muggle answer to Hermione Granger.

So I loved it. I felt cool. I felt bohemian. I felt like I belonged. Most especially when I was walking about campus by myself in blue jeans and sandals, my Union Jack bag slapping against my thigh, my headphones on and The Strokes breathing sweet if somewhat harsh melodies into my ears.

I hung out with the dorky boys in my group. And I suppose it wasn't because the girls were necessarily prissier than most, I just think girls are naturally prissy. And I can't see shaggy-haired t-shirted me chit-chatting with them. So I met Doug and John and Colin and Ian. I now have Ian to go to theatre auditions with and Doug to play euchre with.

My schedule is going to have to be tweaked a bit, because my stupid ass accidentally signed up for a class on one of the other campuses. Hopefully I will have the opportunity to just take the same one at a different time. But, at present, and if times only change, I am taking Life and Thought in English Literature 1600-1901, Advanced College Composition, World History to 1500, The Diverse Worlds of Music, and US Identity Politics.

August 16. Fucking August 16.

astera at 3:33 p.m.

previous | next