December 12, 2002

Thoroughgood

"Today started out so good, but it just keeps getting worse."

I agree wholeheartedly with the latter, but cannot do so with the former.

"How did it start out good?"

Mike looks at me.

"Well, I woke up a couple of times last night." He pauses. "And you were still there."

When I expect him to say romantic things, he doesn't. And then he says things like that.

So, I stayed with him Tuesday night. So, my parents found out.

So, I'm still breathing. And typing, too, for that matter. There was a fair amount of disgust when I returned the call they made to Mike's house at 8 a.m., but later, when I had to see them to go and pick up my truck, we all behaved in a normal, civil fashion.

Could I have finally and inadvertently asserted myself? Or are they just in denial?

Either way. Sweet.

It does not appear that I get to eat today. After my 7:30 a.m. exam I tried in vain to return to bed, but eventually got back up around 11:30 and got a shower and headed out to Wal-Mart to polish up my Christmas shopping. My brother stands as the only individual left to be bought for. I could go into a long boring list of what I got everyone, but that would seek only to entertain me, because I have this sort of sick thing with Christmas shopping. I like it. I try to find the perfect thing for everyone, which would explain why I was in Wal-Mart for roughly an hour and fifteen minutes.

I love Wal-Mart.

Even though they are destroying America. At least according to the book.

I am ogling the Harry Potter Legos that Carrie and Bethany got me for Christmas. It's the Quidditch set, and I am just madly in love with tiny little sneering Draco Malfoy Lego man.

My desk is becoming a toy chest.

I feel as though vacation has already begun. I don't have another exam until tomorrow at 2:45, and I can say with almost perfect certainty that I will wait to study until tomorrow. I need to sell my books back before class, though, so chances are I will have to get up in the morning and get my reading out of the way.

I wonder, where is my study guide...?

I've eaten nothing but mint kisses all day. Why, you ask? Well, I took an exam/slept through breakfast, and missed dining hall lunch hours whilst shopping. Not even the deli is open. So, until five o'clock, I am going to have to survive on water, stale blueberry bagel, and aforementioned kisses.

Not that the school food is of much better quality.

I want to wrap my gifts, but have no paper.

I want to call Mike, but he is at work.

I wore his shirt to bed last night and it smelled like him. I don't even have to ask to borrow his clothes. I just sort of take them and never return them.

I listen to his diskman when I am walking around and imagine him in Germany, listening to 311 or The Smashing Pumpkins, riding the train or walking to school.

I love him. And, as I told him, not just because he's great in bed.

He has a sense of humour, too.

astera at 3:20 p.m.

previous | next